Disney has announced its collaboration with IMAX that will see several Marvel movies presented in IMAX’s Expanded Aspect Ratio format on Disney Plus. 13 Marvel movies will be upgraded to IMAX Enhanced on November 12th including Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which is making its debut on the service that day.

Although IMAX generally uses a squarer 1.43:1 format, the Expanded Aspect Ratio is 1.90:1, which is relatively close to the 16:9 ratio of TVs. MCU movies are commonly presented in wider, letterboxed aspect ratios, but many of them feature some 1.90:1 sequences captured with IMAX-certified cameras for a taller picture in IMAX theaters. Avengers: Infinity War and Endgame, concurrently,  were shot entirely in the format.

For example, Black Widow has 22 minutes of IMAX Expanded Aspect Ratio footage, so those scenes will fill up more of your TV screen when you watch them on Disney Plus. That is, the black bars will be smaller. The IMAX Enhanced designation will ultimately involve more features like DTS surround sound.

Here you can check the full list of Marvel movies that will be certified as IMAX Enhanced on November 12th:

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Black Panther
  • Black Widow
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Captain Marvel
  • Doctor Strange
  • Iron Man
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Thor: Ragnarok


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here